Financiamiento y becas

L'Oréal-UNESCO Awards "For Women in Science"


For Women in Science

Fechas convocatoria


Información básica

Zonas geográficas
Dirigido a:
Académicos e investigadores
Tecnología, Ciencias Naturales y Matemáticas


As Executive Secretaries for the L’Oréal Foundation and for UNESCO, we are writing you to invite you to put forward extraordinary female scientists for the 2015 L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards in the Physical Sciences.

The selection of outstanding candidates will take place worldwide, across all continents. The five €100,000 Awards will be presented in March 2015 in Paris to five female scientists who have made an outstanding contribution to scientific advancement.

In order to nominate your candidate, please follow the registration procedure on the For Women in Science Platform accessible via The platform will allow you to upload all the necessary documents in order to submit the candidates’ application.

We kindly ask you to submit your nominations by Friday June 15, 2014.

Please be aware that only nominations received through the platform by this deadline will be considered.

We thank you for your active participation in ensuring that the best female researchers from each continent are recognized and rewarded for their scientific excellence.

Margaret Johnston-Clarke (Executive Secretary for the L’Oréal Foundation) and Sonia Bahri (Executive Secretary for UNESCO)

About the L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program:

Since its creation in 1998, the For Women in Science partnership expands each year. To date, the L’Oréal-UNESCO program has distinguished 82 eminent women scientists at the height of their career and supported 1920 promising young women scientists through doctoral and postdoctoral Fellowships. Today, over 2000 women scientists have been recognized in 115 countries.

In 2009, two of the Laureates of the 2008 L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards in Life Sciences received a Nobel Prize in their field of expertise: Elizabeth Blackburn in Medicine and Ada Yonath in Chemistry.

The L’Oréal-UNESCO Awards are granted each year to distinguished eminent female scientists at the height of their career.

The 2015 Awards will be given to 5 female scientists who have made a significant contribution in the Physical Sciences. Each of the Laureates will receive an Award of €100,000.

One Award is given per geographic region as follows:

-          Africa/Arab States

-          Asia and Pacific

-          Europe (including Israel)

-          Latin America

-          North America (Canada and USA)

 Please note that the determining factor is the place of work, not the nationality of the candidate. 

Selection Criteria:

The candidate must:

-          Be recognized for her personal scientific excellence among the international scientific community

-          Be actively involved in scientific research

-          Be involved in any field of the Physical Sciences

-          Not be directly or personally involved in the For Women in Science program, as a jury member or otherwise, in any country.

Multiple Nominations and Renominations:

If you wish to nominate several candidates or renominate a candidate you presented in the past you may do so.

Comunicaciones VID